## **NEWS RELEASE**

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE For more information contact:

September 7, 2021 Chief Justice Kate M. Fox

307-777-7573

## JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION ANNOUNCES SUPREME COURT VACANCY

Wyoming Supreme Court Chief Justice Kate M. Fox, who acts as Chairman of the Judicial Nominating Commission, announced today that Wyoming Supreme Court Justice Michael K. Davis will be retiring from the Court, effective January 16, 2022.

The Judicial Nominating Commission will accept expressions of interest from qualified persons to fill the vacancy through Friday, October 1, 2021. The expression of form can be obtained from the Supreme Court's http://www.courts.state.wy.us/Administration/Careers. The completed form must be received in the office of Chief Justice Fox no later than 5:00 p.m., on Friday, October 1, 2021. Please do not submit letters of recommendation, as the Commission will not consider them, but will instead only review documents specifically required by the expression of interest.

Governor Mark Gordon will appoint the Supreme Court Justice from a list of three names submitted to him by the Judicial Nominating Commission. Current members of the Judicial Nominating Commission are: Chief Justice Fox, three lawyers elected by the Wyoming State Bar: Anna Reeves Olson of Casper, Katherine Strike of Lander, and Devon O'Connell of Laramie; and three non-lawyers appointed by the Governor: Gudrid Espenscheid of Big Piney, Paul Scherbel of Afton, and Dan Kirkbride of Chugwater.

TO SERVE AS A SUPREME COURT JUSTICE, ONE MUST BE LEARNED IN THE LAW, HAVE BEEN IN THE ACTUAL PRACTICE OF LAW AND/OR A JUDGE OF A COURT OF RECORD FOR NINE YEARS, BE AT LEAST THIRTY YEARS OF AGE AND A CITIZEN OF THE UNITED STATES, AND HAVE BEEN A RESIDENT OF WYOMING FOR THE PAST THREE YEARS.