NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

For more information contact

October 2, 2017

Chief Justice E. James Burke

307-777-7557

JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION ANNOUNCES

SUPREME COURT VACANCY

Wyoming Supreme Court Chief Justice E. James Burke, who acts as Chairman of the Judicial Nominating Commission, announced today that Wyoming Supreme Court Justice William U. Hill will be retiring from the Court, effective February 17, 2018.

The Judicial Nominating Commission will accept expressions of interest from qualified persons to fill the vacancy through October 30, 2017. Copies of the expression of interest form can be obtained from the Supreme Court's website, http://www.courts.state.wy.us/Administration/Careers. The completed form *must be received* in the office of the Chief Justice no later than 5:00 p.m., on October 30, 2017.

Governor Matthew H. Mead will appoint the Supreme Court Justice from a list of three names submitted to him by the Judicial Nominating Commission. Serving on the Judicial Nominating Commission are Chief Justice Burke, three lawyers elected by the Wyoming State Bar: P. Craig Silva of Casper, Richard H. Honaker of Rock Springs, and Professor John M. Burman of Laramie; and three non-lawyers appointed by the Governor: Lori A. Emmert of Douglas, Teri Bowers of Grover, and Rosie Berger of Big Horn.

TO SERVE AS A SUPREME COURT JUSTICE, ONE MUST BE LEARNED IN THE LAW, HAVE BEEN IN THE ACTUAL PRACTICE OF LAW AND/OR A JUDGE OF A COURT OF RECORD FOR NINE YEARS, AT LEAST THIRTY YEARS OF AGE, A CITIZEN OF THE UNITED STATES, AND A RESIDENT OF WYOMING FOR THE PAST THREE YEARS.