NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

For more information contact:

June 8, 2018

Justice Michael K. Davis 307-777-7421

JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION ANNOUNCES SUPREME COURT VACANCY

Wyoming Supreme Court Justice Michael K. Davis, who has been appointed by Chief Justice E. James Burke to act as Chairman of the Judicial Nominating Commission pursuant to Article 5, § 4 of the Wyoming Constitution, announced today that Wyoming Supreme Court Chief Justice E. James Burke will be retiring from the Court, effective October 8, 2018.

The Judicial Nominating Commission will accept expressions of interest from qualified persons to fill the vacancy through Friday, July 6, 2018. Copies of the expression of interest form can be obtained from the Supreme Court's website, http://www.courts.state.wy.us/Administration/Careers. The completed form *must be received* in the office of Justice Davis no later than 5:00 p.m. on Friday, July 6, 2018. Please do not submit letters of recommendation, as the Commission will not consider them, but will instead only review letters specifically required by the Expression of Interest.

Governor Matthew H. Mead will appoint the Supreme Court Justice from a list of three names submitted to him by the Judicial Nominating Commission. Serving on the Judicial Nominating Commission are Justice Davis, three lawyers elected by the Wyoming State Bar: Richard H. Honaker of Rock Springs, Professor John M. Burman of Laramie; and Gay Woodhouse of Cheyenne; and three non-lawyers appointed by the Governor: Lori A. Emmert of Douglas, Teri Bowers of Afton, and Rosie Berger of Big Horn.

TO SERVE AS A SUPREME COURT JUSTICE, ONE MUST BE LEARNED IN THE LAW, HAVE BEEN IN THE ACTUAL PRACTICE OF LAW AND/OR A JUDGE OF A COURT OF RECORD FOR NINE YEARS, AT LEAST THIRTY YEARS OF AGE, A CITIZEN OF THE UNITED STATES, AND A RESIDENT OF WYOMING FOR THE PAST THREE YEARS.