## **NEWS RELEASE**

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

For more information contact:

August 4, 2020

Chief Justice Michael K. Davis 307-777-7421

## JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION ANNOUNCES VACANCY IN DISTRICT COURT, SIXTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT (Campbell, Crook, and Weston Counties)

Wyoming Supreme Court Chief Justice Michael K. Davis, who acts as Chairman of the Judicial Nominating Commission, announced today that District Judge Michael N. Deegan, Sixth Judicial District, will be retiring effective December 25, 2020.

The Judicial Nominating Commission will accept expressions of interest from qualified persons to fill the vacancy through Monday, August 31, 2020. The expression of interest form can be obtained from the Supreme Court's website. http://www.courts.state.wy.us/Administration/Careers. The completed form must be received in the office of Chief Justice Davis no later than 5:00 p.m. on Monday, August 31, 2020. Please do not submit letters of recommendation, as the Commission will not consider them, but will instead only review documents specifically required by the Expression of Interest.

Governor Mark Gordon will appoint the Sixth Judicial District Court Judge from a list of three names submitted to him by the Judicial Nominating Commission. Serving on the Judicial Nominating Commission are Chief Justice Davis, three lawyers elected by the Wyoming State Bar: Gay Woodhouse of Cheyenne, Katherine Strike of Lander, and Anna Reeves Olson of Casper; and three non-lawyers appointed by the Governor: Rosie Berger of Big Horn, Paul Scherbel of Afton, and Gudrid Espenscheid of Big Piney.

TO SERVE AS A DISTRICT JUDGE, ONE MUST BE LEARNED IN THE LAW, AT LEAST TWENTY-EIGHT YEARS OF AGE, A CITIZEN OF THE UNITED STATES, AND A RESIDENT OF WYOMING FOR THE PAST TWO YEARS.