NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

For more information contact:

September 18, 2018

Chief Justice Michael K. Davis 307-777-7421

JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION ANNOUNCES VACANCY IN DISTRICT COURT, SEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT (NATRONA COUNTY)

Wyoming Supreme Court Chief Justice Michael K. Davis, who acts as Chairman of the Judicial Nominating Commission, announced today that Seventh Judicial District Judge W. Thomas Sullins will be retiring from the district court effective January 7, 2019.

The Judicial Nominating Commission will accept expressions of interest from qualified persons to fill the vacancy through Tuesday, October 16, 2018. Copies of the expression of interest form can be obtained from the Supreme Court's website, http://www.courts.state.wy.us/Administration/Careers. The completed form *must be received* in the office of Chief Justice Davis no later than 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, October 16, 2018. Please do not submit letters of recommendation, as the Commission will not consider them, but will instead only review letters specifically required by the Expression of Interest.

Governor Matthew H. Mead will appoint the District Judge from a list of three names submitted to him by the Judicial Nominating Commission. Serving on the Judicial Nominating Commission are Chief Justice Davis, three lawyers elected by the Wyoming State Bar: Richard H. Honaker of Rock Springs, Professor John M. Burman of Laramie; and Gay Woodhouse of Cheyenne; and three non-lawyers appointed by the Governor: Lori A. Emmert of Douglas, Paul Scherbel of Afton, and Rosie Berger of Big Horn.

TO SERVE AS A DISTRICT JUDGE, ONE MUST BE LEARNED IN THE LAW, AT LEAST TWENTY-EIGHT YEARS OF AGE, A CITIZEN OF THE UNITED STATES, AND A RESIDENT OF WYOMING FOR THE PAST TWO YEARS.