NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

September 20, 2017

For more information contact

Chief Justice E. James Burke

307-777-7557

JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION ANNOUNCES

CIRCUIT COURT, SECOND JUDICIAL DISTRICT CARBON COUNTY (RAWLINS) VACANCY

Wyoming Supreme Court Chief Justice E. James Burke, who acts as Chairman of the Judicial Nominating Commission, announced today that Second Judicial District Circuit Court Judge Jane Eakin will be retiring from the court, effective February 16, 2018.

The Judicial Nominating Commission will accept expressions of interest from qualified persons to fill the vacancy through October 17, 2017. Copies of the expression of interest form can be obtained from the Supreme Court's website, http://www.courts.state.wy.us/Administration/Careers. The completed form *must be received* in the office of the Chief Justice no later than 5:00 p.m., on October 17, 2017.

Governor Matthew H. Mead will appoint the Second Judicial District Circuit Court Judge (Carbon County) from a list of three names submitted to him by the Judicial Nominating Commission. Serving on the Judicial Nominating Commission are Chief Justice Burke, three lawyers elected by the Wyoming State Bar: P. Craig Silva of Casper, Richard H. Honaker of Rock Springs, and Professor John M. Burman of Laramie; and three non-lawyers appointed by the Governor: Lori A. Emmert of Douglas, Teri Bowers of Grover, and Rosie Berger of Big Horn.

TO SERVE AS A CIRCUIT COURT JUDGE, ONE MUST BE A QUALIFIED ELECTOR OF THE STATE, AND AUTHORIZED TO PRACTICE LAW IN WYOMING.