## **NEWS RELEASE**

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

For more information contact:

August 1, 2018

Chief Justice Michael K. Davis 307-777-7421

## JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION ANNOUNCES VACANCY IN CIRCUIT COURT, FIFTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT (PRIMARILY RESPONSIBLE FOR HOT SPRINGS, WASHAKIE, AND BIG HORN COUNTIES)

Wyoming Supreme Court Chief Justice Michael K. Davis, who acts as Chairman of the Judicial Nominating Commission, announced today that Fifth Judicial Circuit Court Judge Thomas W. Harrington will be retiring from the court effective January 7, 2019.

The Judicial Nominating Commission will accept expressions of interest from qualified persons to fill the vacancy through Wednesday, August 29, 2018. Copies of the expression of interest form can be obtained from the Supreme Court's website, http://www.courts.state.wy.us/Administration/Careers. The completed form *must be received* in the office of Chief Justice Davis no later than 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, August 29, 2018. Please do not submit letters of recommendation, as the Commission will not consider them, but will instead only review letters specifically required by the Expression of Interest.

Governor Matthew H. Mead will appoint the Fifth Judicial District Circuit Court Judge from a list of three names submitted to him by the Judicial Nominating Commission. Serving on the Judicial Nominating Commission are Chief Justice Davis, three lawyers elected by the Wyoming State Bar: Richard H. Honaker of Rock Springs, Professor John M. Burman of Laramie; and Gay Woodhouse of Cheyenne; and three nonlawyers appointed by the Governor: Lori A. Emmert of Douglas, Rosie Berger of Big Horn, and Paul Scherbel of Afton.

TO SERVE AS A CIRCUIT COURT JUDGE, ONE MUST BE A QUALIFIED ELECTOR OF THE STATE, AND AUTHORIZED TO PRACTICE LAW IN WYOMING.