NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

For more information contact:

March 29, 2019

Chief Justice Michael K. Davis 307-777-7421

JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION ANNOUNCES VACANCY IN CIRCUIT COURT, EIGHTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT (Primarily responsible for Goshen, Niobrara, and Platte Counties)

Wyoming Supreme Court Chief Justice Michael K. Davis, who acts as Chairman of the Judicial Nominating Commission, announced today that Circuit Court Judge Randal R. Arp, Eighth Judicial District, will be retiring effective July 2, 2019.

The Judicial Nominating Commission will accept expressions of interest from qualified persons to fill the vacancy through Monday, April 29, 2019. The expression of form can be obtained from the Supreme Court's http://www.courts.state.wy.us/Administration/Careers. The completed form must be received in the office of Chief Justice Davis no later than 5:00 p.m. on Monday, April 29, 2019. Please do not submit letters of recommendation, as the Commission will not consider them, but will instead only review letters specifically required by the Expression of Interest.

Governor Mark Gordon will appoint the Eighth Judicial District Circuit Court Judge from a list of three names submitted to him by the Judicial Nominating Commission. Serving on the Judicial Nominating Commission are Chief Justice Davis, three lawyers elected by the Wyoming State Bar: Gay Woodhouse of Cheyenne, Thomas A. Thompson of Rawlins, and Anna Reeves Olson of Casper; and three non-lawyers appointed by the Governor: Rosie Berger of Big Horn, Paul Scherbel of Afton, and Gudrid Espenscheid of Big Piney.

TO SERVE AS A CIRCUIT COURT JUDGE, ONE MUST BE A QUALIFIED ELECTOR OF THE STATE, AND AUTHORIZED TO PRACTICE LAW IN WYOMING.