NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

For more information contact:

November 16, 2021

Chief Justice Kate M. Fox

307-777-7573

JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION ANNOUNCES VACANCY IN DISTRICT COURT, SIXTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT (Campbell, Crook, and Weston Counties)

Wyoming Supreme Court Chief Justice Kate M. Fox, who acts as Chairman of the Judicial Nominating Commission, announced today that District Court Judge Thomas W. Rumpke, Sixth Judicial District, tendered his resignation, effective March 2, 2022.

The Judicial Nominating Commission will accept expressions of interest from qualified persons to fill the vacancy through Tuesday, December 7, 2021. The expression of interest form can be obtained from the Supreme Court's website, http://www.courts.state.wy.us/Administration/Careers. The completed form *must be received* in the office of Chief Justice Fox no later than **5:00 p.m., on Tuesday, December 7, 2021**. Please do not include letters of recommendation, as the Commission will not consider them, but will instead only review documents specifically required by the expression of interest.

Governor Mark Gordon will appoint the Sixth Judicial District Judge from a list of three names submitted to him by the Judicial Nominating Commission. Current members of the Judicial Nominating Commission are: Chief Justice Fox, three lawyers elected by the Wyoming State Bar: Anna Reeves Olson of Casper, Katherine Strike of Lander, and Devon O'Connell of Laramie; and three non-lawyers appointed by the Governor: Gudrid Espenscheid of Big Piney, Paul Scherbel of Afton, and Dan Kirkbride of Chugwater.

TO SERVE AS A DISTRICT COURT JUDGE, ONE MUST BE LEARNED IN THE LAW, AT LEAST TWENTY-EIGHT YEARS OF AGE, A CITIZEN OF THE UNITED STATES, AND A RESIDENT OF WYOMING FOR THE PAST TWO YEARS.