## **NEWS RELEASE**

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

For more information contact:

May 23, 2019

Chief Justice Michael K. Davis 307-777-7421

## JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION ANNOUNCES NOMINEES FOR THE CIRCUIT JUDGE VACANCY IN THE EIGHTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

On behalf of the Judicial Nominating Commission, Wyoming Supreme Court Chief Justice Michael K. Davis, who serves as Chairman, announced today that the Commission has completed its consideration of all who have expressed interest in the position of Circuit Judge of the Eighth Judicial District. Pursuant to Article 5, § 4 of the Wyoming Constitution, the Judicial Nominating Commission submitted three nominees for the position to Governor Mark Gordon for his consideration. Those nominees, listed in alphabetical order, are:

> Patricia L. Bennett Edward A. Buchanan Nathaniel S. Hibben

Governor Gordon has thirty days to appoint one of these three nominees to serve as the new Circuit Judge. Current members of the Judicial Nominating Commission are three lawyers elected by the Wyoming State Bar: Thomas A. Thompson of Rawlins, Anna Reeves Olson of Casper, and Gay Woodhouse of Cheyenne; and three non-lawyers appointed by the Governor: Rosie Berger of Big Horn, Gudrid Espenscheid of Big Piney, and Paul Scherbel of Afton.