NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

For more information contact:

November 20, 2018

Chief Justice Michael K. Davis 307-777-7421

JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION ANNOUNCES NOMINEES FOR THE NEW DISTRICT JUDGE POSITION IN THE FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT

On behalf of the Judicial Nominating Commission, Wyoming Supreme Court Chief Justice Michael K. Davis, who serves as Chairman, announced today that the Commission has completed its consideration of all who have expressed interest in the position of District Judge of the First Judicial District. Pursuant to Article 5, § 4 of the Wyoming Constitution, the Judicial Nominating Commission submitted three nominees for the position to Governor Matthew H. Mead for his consideration. Those nominees, listed in alphabetical order, are:

> Peter H. Froelicher Melinda S. McCorkle Robert J. Sanford

Governor Mead has thirty days to appoint one of these three nominees to serve as the new District Judge. Current members of the Judicial Nominating Commission are three lawyers elected by the Wyoming State Bar: Richard H. Honaker of Rock Springs, Professor John M. Burman of Laramie, and Gay Woodhouse of Cheyenne; and three nonlawyers appointed by the Governor: Rosie Berger of Big Horn, Lori A. Emmert of Douglas, and Paul Scherbel of Afton.