
Divorce 
 
 

 

Does my spouse have to agree to the divorce? No. Your spouse doesn’t have to agree for the 
divorce to happen. Also, in Wyoming, you don’t have to explain your reasons for wanting a 
divorce. The law says you just have to state that you and your spouse have “irreconcilable 
differences,” which means you don’t get along anymore and can’t fix the relationship.  

 

Where do I file for divorce? To file for divorce in Wyoming, either you or your spouse must 

have lived in the state for at least 60 days before filing. But if you got married in Wyoming and 

have been married for less than 60 days, you can still file for divorce as long as one of you has 

lived in Wyoming since you got married. You can file for divorce in the county where you or 

your spouse lives. 

 

How long does a divorce take? In Wyoming, the court can’t grant your divorce until at least 20 
days after you file the papers, but most divorces take longer than that anyway. It’s important to 
understand that there will usually be several steps before your divorce is final. 

 

Are children included in the divorce? Yes. If you and your spouse have children together and 

those children are still under the age of 18 (or meet certain other conditions), decisions about 

custody, visitation, and child support will be part of the divorce. The Court will make the final 

decision on these issues, but it is helpful if you and your spouse can agree on how these 

matters should be handled. Read the Child Custody Information Page for more information. 

 

How will our property and debts be divided? If you and your spouse can’t agree, the court will 

decide how to divide the property and debts in a way that is fair. The judge looks at things like 

who earned or got the property, what each person needs after the divorce, and how the 

property affects the parties and children. “Fair” does not necessarily mean everything will be 

split 50/50. 

 

Can someone get spousal support (alimony) in a divorce? Spousal support (also called 

alimony) is not very common, but in some cases judges do order it. While you are going through 

the divorce process, the judge might order you or your spouse to pay support to the other 

person. The judge also might order one of you to pay the other person’s attorney fees. When 

the divorce is final, the judge might order support payments of a specific amount for a specific 

length of time (including for life). The law allows either person to ask the judge to change that 

order.  

 

Can I change my name? Yes. As part of the divorce, either person can choose to go back to a 
name they used before. Only the person asking for the name change can decide this. One 
spouse cannot make the other spouse change their name. 

 

Are there forms to help me file for a divorce if I can’t afford a lawyer? There are do-it-yourself 

forms you can use to file for divorce. The forms and instructions are free and available online at 

www.wyocourts.gov or you can purchase the forms for $10 from any District Clerk’s office.  

http://www.wyocourts.gov/


Notes 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

TASK DUE DATE DONE 

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   
 

 

This handout is available for free at www.wyocourts.gov  Rev. May 2025 

http://www.wyocourts.gov/

