Board of Judicial Policy and Administration

Supreme Court Building, Room 237 Cheyenne, Wyoming December 16, 2019 9:00 A.M. – NOON Video Conference

AGENDA

BJPA Members: Chief Justice Michael Davis (Chair), Justice Kate Fox, Justice Lynne Boomgaarden, Judge John Fenn, Judge Catherine Rogers, Judge Thomas Rumpke, Judge Bob Castor, Judge Wes Roberts, Judge Curt Haws

Agenda Items	
Roll Call	Lily Sharpe
Welcome	Chief Justice Davis
Petition to Extend Jurisdiction of Circuit Court – Town of Van Tassell	 Overview – Chief Justice Davis A. Van Tassell Petition (Attachment A) B. Letter from Judge Case Re: Van Tassell Peition (Attachment B) C. Letter from Judge Hibben Re: Town of Van Tassell (Attachment C) D. Letter from Magistrate Meier Re: Municipal Court merger with Circuit Court (Attachment C.1) E. BJPA 2002 Jurisdiction Policy Statement (Attachment D) F. W.S. § 5-9-105. Extending jurisdiction to try misdemeanors committed in violation of city or town ordinances (Attachment E)
Audit of Circuit Courts	 Overview of an Audit – Brittany Leasure Casper A. Audit Letter September 27, 2019 (Attachment F)
New Judicial Appointments	Third Judicial District: Suzannah Robinson A. Judge James retired October 18, 2019

Interim Committee Meetings	 Joint Appropriations Committee A. Meeting October 29-30 in Riverton – Lily Sharpe and Julie Goyen I. E-Filing and Combined Materials (Attachment G) B. Presentation of Budget December 10 in Cheyenne – Claire Smith I. Pay Tables and Uniform Leave for Law Clerks Joint Judiciary Committee – Justice Fox and Elisa Butler A. Meeting October 31-November 1 in Cheyenne I. Jury procedure amendments bill (Attachment H) II. Parent counsel and family preservation bill (Attachment I)
Chancery Court Committee Judicial Members: Justice Fox (Chair), Chief Justice Davis, Judge Fenn, Judge Waldrip, Ret., Judge Sullins, Ret.	1. Update – Justice Fox A. Location B. Review of Proposed Rules i. Rule Markup (Attachment J) ii. Clean Version (Attachment K)
Judicial Conference Reports Circuit Conference President: Judge Christensen District Conference President: Judge Campbell	 Circuit Court Conference – Judge Christensen District Court Conference – Judge Campbell
Judicial Branch Technology Courtroom Automation Committee Members: Chief Justice Davis (Chair), Judge Fenn, Judge Edelman, Judge Campbell, Judge Christensen, Judge Castano, Judge Haws Courtroom Technology Committee Members: Chief Justice Davis (Chair), Justice Fox, Judge Lavery, Judge Johnson, Judge Christensen, and Judge Prokos	Court Automation Committee Updates – Elisa Butler and Heather Kenworthy 1. DCAC/CCAC – Heather Kenworthy A. FCE Circuit I. Lander/Dubois, October 27 II. Afton/Kemmerer, November 17 III. 16 Courts Total, 18 Databases Migrated B. FCE District I. Committee Work 2. Jury Management – Heather Kenworthy A. Update Installed I. Contained Second Address for Jurors

B. Commencement of Activities for Group 3

I. Training in December

E-Filing Update – Elisa Butler

1. Committee Work

Courtroom Technology Committee Updates – Nate Goddard

- 1. Rollout
- 2. Laramie County
- 3. Emergency Requests
- 4. MOUs

Azure Migration – Nate Goddard

Annual Pen Testing – Nate Goddard

IT Timeline Review JMI – Julie Goyen

Staff Move Herschler / Training Room – Julie Goyen

Permanent Rules Advisory Committee (PRAC)

Court Records Division

Judicial Members: Justice Gray, Judge Overfield, Judge Castano

Appellate Division

Judicial Members: Justice Boomgaarden, Judge Fenn

Civil Division

Judicial Members: Justice Fox (Chair), Judge Castano, Judge Kricken, Judge Rumpke

Criminal Division

Judicial Members: Justice Kautz (Chair), Judge Sharpe, Judge Phillips

Evidence Division

Judicial Members: Judge Rumpke (Chair), Judge Nau, Judge Radda

Juvenile Division

Judicial Members: Judge Wilking (Chair), Justice Kautz, Judge Campbell, Judge Fenn

- 1. Appellate Rules Division Justice Boomgaarden and Patty Bennett
 - A. No Update
- 2. Civil Rules Division Justice Fox and Patty Bennett
 - A. No Update
- 3. Criminal Rules Division Patty Bennett
 - A. Input on Circuit Court Executive Committee recommendation to amend Criminal Procedure Rule 4(a) as set forth in Attachment L
- 4. Rules of Evidence Division Judge Rumpke and Patty Bennett
 - A. Received line-by-line comparison of the Federal and State Rules
 - B. Plan to meet early next year to determine any recommendations for changes
- 5. Juvenile Rules Division Judge Campbell and Patty Bennett
 - A. Meeting on November 25
 - I. Proposed Changes to/Creation of Rules
 - a. 6 v. 12 person jury in delinquency and CHINS cases
 - b. Address the number of preemptory challenges in

	delinquency, CHINS, and abuse/neglect cases
	II. Criminal Rules Division request for input regarding WRCrP 24(d)(2) if delinquency cases should be removed and addressed in the Juvenile Rules
Access to Justice Commission	1. Update – Justice Boomgaarden
Court Security Commission	1. Update – Ronda Munger
Judicial Education	1. Update – Elisa Butler
National Trends — Cellphone Use in Courthouses	1. Update – Chief Justice Davis
New Business	1. Member Input

Attachments are highlighted