Board of Judicial Policy and Administration

TEAMS Meeting September 20, 2021 9:00 A.M. – NOON

AGENDA

BJPA Members: Chief Justice Kate Fox (Chair), Justice Lynne Boomgaarden, Justice Kari Gray, Judge Catherine Wilking, Judge Catherine Rogers, Judge Thomas Rumpke, Judge Wes Roberts, Judge Wendy Bartlett, Judge Matt Castano

Agenda Items	
Roll Call	Elisa Butler
Welcome	Chief Justice Fox
Future of BJPA 9:05 – 10:35	 Discussion – Chief Justice Fox A. BJPA Future (Attachment A) B. Order Establishing 2000 (Attachment B) C. Rules Procedures for BJPA (Attachment C)
Judicial Vacancies	 Ninth Judicial District (Lander): Robert Denhardt A. Judge Denhardt Retiring October 4, 2021 Fifth Judicial District: Bruce Waters

Interim Legislative	1. Points of Interest – Elisa Butler
Work	
Court Interpreter Policy	1. Revision– Jeri Hendricks
	A. Proposed Edits to Court Interpreter Policy (Attachment D)
Fiscal	1. Points of Interest – Claire Smith
	A. CARES Act
	B. ARPA
	C. Budget
Chancery Court	 Introduction of Chief Counsel and Director, Ben Burningham – Chief Justice Fox
	2. Groundwork – Ben Burningham
	3. Chancery Court Rules – Ben Burningham
	A. Wyoming Rules of Civil Procedure for the Court of Chancery (Attachment E)
	B. Uniform Rules for the Court of Chancery (Attachment F)
	C. eFiling Administrative Policies and Procedures Manual Chancery Court (Attachment G)
	D. Rules for Fees and Costs for Chancery Court (Attachment H)
Judicial Advisory Poll Subcommittee	1. Committee Work – Justice Boomgaarden
<u>Judicial Members:</u> Justice Boomgaarden, Judge Day, Judge Fenn, Judge Prokos, Judge Stipe	
Judicial Conference	1. Circuit Court Conference – Judge Christensen
Reports <u>Circuit Conference President:</u> Judge	A. Report
Christensen	2. District Court Conference – Judge Lavery
District Conference President: Judge Lavery	A. District Court Conference Meeting
Judicial Branch	Applications Division – Heather Kenworthy
Technology	1. Case Management System
Courtroom Automation	

Committee	A. FCE District
Members: Chief Justice Fox	
(Chair), Justice Davis, Judge Fenn, Judge Edelman, Judge	B. WyUser
Campbell, Judge Christensen,	2. Jury Management
Judge Castano, Judge Haws	A. Rollout Complete
Courtroom Technology Committee Members: Chief	EFiling Update – Elisa Butler
Justice Fox (Chair), Justice Davis, Judge Lavery, Judge Johnson, Judge Christensen, and Judge Prokos	Information Technology Division – Nate Goddard
	1. Information Technology
	A. Onsite Visits
	B. O365 Multifactor Authentication (MFA)
	C. Email Security Statistics (Attachment I)
	2. Courtroom Technology
Permanent Rules	1. Appellate Rules Division – Justice Boomgaarden
Advisory Committee (PRAC)	2. Criminal Rules Division – Justice Kautz
Court Records Division	
Judicial Members: Justice Gray,	
Judge Overfield, Judge Castano	
<u>Appellate Division</u> Judicial Members: Justice	
Boomgaarden, Judge Fenn	
<u>Civil Division</u> Judicial Members: Chief Justice Fox	
(Chair), Judge Castano, Judge	
Kricken, Judge Rumpke	
Criminal Division Judicial Members: Justice Kautz	
(Chair), Judge Sharpe, Judge Phillips	
Evidence Division Judicial Members: Judge Rumpke	
(Chair), Judge Radda, Judge Phillips	
Juvenile Division Judicial Members: Judge Wilking	
(Chair), Justice Kautz, Judge	
Campbell, Judge Fenn	
Access to Justice Commission	1. Items of Interest – Justice Boomgaarden
	A. Volunteer Reference Attorney Program Update
	B. County Library Training Effort
	C. Pro Bono Government Attorney Proposal

	D. EJW Annual Report
	I. <u>https://www.courts.state.wy.us/wp-</u> content/uploads/2021/08/EJW.Annual.Report_2021.pdf
Court Security Commission	 Annual Report A. <u>https://www.courts.state.wy.us/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/Court-Security-Commission-2021-Report.pdf</u>
Judiciary's COOP	1. Development – Elisa Butler
Correspondence	 Letter & Supplemental Letter Regarding Wyoming Guardianship and Policy (Attachments J & K) – Chief Justice Fox

Attachments are highlighted