Board of Judicial Policy and Administration

Supreme Court Building, Room 237 Cheyenne, Wyoming September 16, 2019 9:00 A.M. – NOON Video Conference

AGENDA

BJPA Members: Chief Justice Michael Davis (Chair), Justice Kate Fox, Justice Lynne Boomgaarden, Judge John Fenn, Judge Catherine Rogers, Judge Thomas Rumpke, Judge Bob Castor, Judge Wes Roberts, Judge Curt Haws

Agenda Items	
Roll Call	Lily Sharpe
Welcome	Chief Justice Davis
JEAC	 Update – Judge Campbell A. Opinion 2019-01 (Attachment A) B. Opinion 2019-02 (Attachment B)
Fourth Judge Campbell County	1. Update – Judge Deegan
Judicial Vacancies	Third Judicial District A. Judge James retires October 18, 2019
New Judicial Appointments	Eighth Judicial District: Nathaniel Hibben A. Judge Arp retired July 2, 2019
Legal Division	Update – Elisa Butler A. Introduction of Phil Donoho
Interim Committee Meetings	1. Joint Judiciary Committee – Justice Fox and Ronda Munger

	A. Meeting August 15-16 in Casper
	I. Abstract of Court Records Bill (Attachment C)
	II. Office of Guardian Ad Litem Bill (Attachment D)
	III. Family Preservation Act (Attachment E)
	B. Meeting October 31-November 1 in Cheyenne
	2. Joint Appropriations Committee – Lily Sharpe and Julie Goyen
	A. Meeting October 29-30 in Fremont County
Chancery Court Committee Judicial Members: Justice Fox	1. Update – Justice Fox
(Chair), Chief Justice Davis, Judge Fenn, Judge Waldrip, Ret., Judge Sullins, Ret.	
Judicial Conference Reports Circuit Conference President: Judge Christensen District Conference President: Judge Day	 Circuit Court Conference – Judge Christensen District Court Conference – Judge Day A. Exception Requests Update
Budget Requests	Update – Claire Smith A. Budget Committee Procedure
Judicial Branch	Court Automation Committee Updates – Elisa Butler and Heather Kenworthy
Courtroom Automation Committee Members: Chief Justice Davis (Chair), Judge Fenn, Judge Edelman, Judge Campbell, Judge Christensen, Judge Castano, Judge Haws Courtroom Technology Committee Members: Chief Justice Davis (Chair), Justice Fox, Judge Lavery, Judge Johnson, Judge Christensen, and Judge Prokos	1. DCAC/CCAC – Heather Kenworthy
	A. FCE Circuit
	I. Sweetwater County Go-Live, June 16
	II. Park County Go-Live, July 7
	III. Teton County Go-Live, July 28
	IV. Uinta County Go-Live, August 18
	V. Fremont County (Riverton) Go-Live, September 8
	B. FCE District
	I. Committee Work
	2. Jury Management – Heather Kenworthy
	A. AgileJury is now Clearview Jury

- B. Activities for Group 2
- C. Commencement of Activities for Group 3
 - I. Training in December

E-Filing Update – Elisa Butler

- 1. RFOs Received
- 2. Committee

Courtroom Technology Committee Updates – Julie Goyen

- 1. Rollout
- 2. Laramie County
- 3. Emergency Requests

Phase III Update – Julie Goyen

Azure Migration – Julie Goyen

Surface Hub Audio System – Julie Goyen

Permanent Rules Advisory Committee (PRAC)

Court Records Division

Judicial Members: Justice Gray, Judge Overfield, Judge Castano

Appellate Division

Judicial Members: Justice Boomgaarden, Judge Fenn

Civil Division

Judicial Members: Justice Fox (Chair), Judge Castano, Judge Kricken, Judge Rumpke

Criminal Division

Judicial Members: Justice Kautz (Chair), Judge Sharpe, Judge Phillips

Evidence Division

Judicial Members: Judge Rumpke (Chair), Judge Nau, Judge Radda

Juvenile Division

Judicial Members: Judge Wilking (Chair), Justice Kautz, Judge Campbell, Judge Fenn

- 1. Court Records Division Phil Donoho
 - A. Order Creating and Appointing Members (Attachment F)
- 2. Appellate Rules Division Justice Boomgaarden and Patty Bennett
 - A. No Update
- 3. Civil Rules Division Justice Fox and Patty Bennett
 - A. Update
 - I. WRCP Committee Minutes and Attachments (Attachment G)
- 4. Criminal Rules Division Justice Kautz and Patty Bennett
 - A. Proposed Change Judge Christensen
 - I. Rule 4(a) (Attachment H)
 - B. Under Consideration:
 - I. Rule 3 (related to specificity in information's which allege multiple counts)
 - II. Rule 24 (related to the number of peremptory challenges when there are multiple defendants)
 - III. Rule 46.4 (related to disposition of forfeited bonds)

	IV. Rule 48 (related to speedy trial)
	V. Rule 32 to comply with W.S. 7-13-303(c)
	VI. Differences between our existing rules and current federal rules
	5. Rules of Evidence Division – Judge Rumpke and Patty Bennett
	A. Revisions to Rules 701, 702, 703, 704, 705, 803, and 902 Effective August 1
	B. Preparation of Line-by-line Comparison
	6. Juvenile Rules Division – Justice Kautz and Patty Bennett
	A. No Update
Access to Justice Commission	1. Update – Justice Boomgaarden
Court Security Commission	1. Update – Ronda Munger
Judicial Education	1. Update – Elisa Butler
	A. Report (Attachment I)
Sweetwater County Supervising Judge	1. Update – Lily Sharpe
	A. Board Approval
	I. Letter from Sweetwater County (Attachment J)
	II. BJPA Supervision Policy (Attachment K)
Disestablishment of Redaction Committee	1. Update – Patty Bennett
	A. Draft Order Disestablishing the Redaction Committee (Attachment L)
2020 BJPA Schedule	1. March 16, 2020
	2. June 15, 2020
	3. September 21, 2020
	4. December 14, 2020
Formal Appointment	Nunc Pro Tunc Order Appointing and/or Reappointing Members to the Board of Judicial Policy and Administration (Attachment M)
New Business	1. Member Input