## **Board of Judicial Policy and Administration**

Supreme Court Building, Room 237 Cheyenne, Wyoming June 15, 2020 9:00 A.M. – NOON Video Conference

## **AGENDA**

**BJPA Members:** Chief Justice Michael Davis (Chair), Justice Kate Fox, Justice Lynne Boomgaarden, Judge John Fenn, Judge Catherine Rogers, Judge Thomas Rumpke, Judge Bob Castor, Judge Wes Roberts, Judge Curt Haws

Agenda Items	
Roll Call	Lily Sharpe
Welcome	Chief Justice Davis
COVID-19 Update	Update – Chief Justice Davis and Lily Sharpe
New Judicial Appointments	First Judicial District: Sean Chambers     A. Judge Nau Retires July 2, 2020
Judicial Vacancies	<ol> <li>Second Judicial District: Robert Caster</li> <li>A. Judge Castor Retiring July 3, 2020</li> </ol>
BJPA Elections	<ol> <li>Terms Expiring on June 30, 2020         <ul> <li>A. Justice Fox</li> <li>B. Judge Fenn</li> <li>C. Judge Roberts</li> </ul> </li> <li>Circuit Court Vacancy Term Expires on June 30, 2022         <ul> <li>A. Judge Castor</li> </ul> </li> <li>New and Returning Members         <ul> <li>A. Supreme Court Selection:</li> </ul> </li> </ol>

	I. Justice Fox, Term Expiration June 30, 2023
	B. District Court Selection:
	I. Judge Wilking Term Expiration June 30, 2023
	C. Circuit Court Selections:
	I. Judge Roberts Term Expiration June 30, 2022
	II. Judge Bartlett Term Expiration June 30, 2023
Children's Justice Project	1. Upcoming Judicial Training Opportunities – Lisa Finkey
COVID-19 Funding	1. Update – Claire Smith
Legislative Interim Meetings	1. Update – Lily Sharpe
<b>Chancery Court</b>	1. Update – Justice Fox
Committee	A. Rules
Judicial Members: Justice Fox (Chair), Chief Justice Davis, Judge Fenn, Judge Waldrip, Ret., Judge Sullins, Ret.	B. Chancery Court Courtroom
Judicial Conference	Circuit Court Conference – Judge Christensen
Reports <u>Circuit Conference President:</u> Judge Christensen	2. District Court Conference – Judge Campbell
District Conference President: Judge Campbell	
Judicial Branch	Court Automation Committee Updates – Elisa Butler and Heather Kenworthy
Technology	1. DCAC/CCAC – Heather Kenworthy
Courtroom Automation Committee	A. FCE Circuit
Members: Chief Justice Davis	I. Buffalo, February 23
(Chair), Judge Fenn, Judge Edelman, Judge Campbell, Judge	II. Sheridan, March 8
Christensen, Judge Castano, Judge Haws	III. 18 Courts Total, 21 Databases Migrated
Courtroom Technology	IV. Sundance, Newcastle, Luck Starts Training June 15th
Committee Members: Chief	B. FCE District
Justice Davis (Chair), Justice Fox, Judge Lavery, Judge Johnson,	I. Committee Work
Judge Christensen, and Judge	II. Received New Preliminary Migration from Vendor

Prokos	2. Jury Management – Heather Kenworthy
	A. Commencement of Activities for Group 4
	I. Training Starts in July
	II. Clerks will Pull First Jury List in August
	E-Filing Update – Elisa Butler
	1. Contract Negotiations
	Courtroom Technology Committee Update – Nate Goddard
	Teams Update – Nate Goddard
	1. Branch Wide Usage
	2. Training
Permanent Rules Advisory Committee (PRAC)  Court Records Division Judicial Members: Justice Gray, Judge Overfield, Judge Castano  Appellate Division Judicial Members: Justice Boomgaarden, Judge Fenn  Civil Division Judicial Members: Justice Fox (Chair), Judge Castano, Judge Kricken, Judge Rumpke  Criminal Division Judicial Members: Justice Kautz (Chair), Judge Sharpe, Judge Phillips  Evidence Division Judicial Members: Judge Rumpke (Chair), Judge Nau, Judge Radda  Juvenile Division  Judicial Members: Judge Wilking (Chair), Justice Kautz, Judge Campbell, Judge Fenn	<ol> <li>Appellate Rules Division – Justice Boomgaarden and Patty Bennett         <ul> <li>A. No Update</li> </ul> </li> <li>Civil Rules Division – Justice Fox and Patty Bennett         <ul> <li>A. No Update</li> </ul> </li> <li>Criminal Rules Division – Patty Bennett         <ul> <li>A. No Update</li> </ul> </li> <li>Rules of Evidence Division – Judge Rumpke and Patty Bennett         <ul> <li>A. No Update</li> </ul> </li> <li>Juvenile Rules Division – Patty Bennett         <ul> <li>A. Proposed Rule Changes out for Review and Comment</li> <li>I. Peremptory Challenges and Jury Size</li> </ul> </li> </ol>
Access to Justice Commission	1. Update – Justice Boomgaarden
Court Security Commission	1. Update – Ronda Munger

Campbell County Supervising Judge	Update – Lily Sharpe     A. Board Approval
	<ul><li>I. Letter from Campbell County (Attachment A)</li><li>II. BJPA Supervision Policy (Attachment B)</li></ul>
New Business	1. Member Input

Attachments are highlighted