Board of Judicial Policy and Administration

Supreme Court Building, Room 237 Cheyenne, Wyoming June 11, 2018 8:00 A.M. – 10:30 A.M. Video Conference

AGENDA

BJPA Members: Chief Justice Jim Burke (Chair), Justice Kate Fox, Justice Keith Kautz, Judge Bob Castor, Judge Catherine Rogers, Judge John Fenn, Judge Curt Haws, Judge John Perry, Judge Wes Roberts

Agenda Items	
Welcome	Chief Justice Burke
BJPA Elections	 Expiring Terms: Chief Justice Burke (Chair), Justice Kautz, Judge Perry, Judge Haws New and Returning Members
	A. Chair: Justice Davis
	 B. Supreme Court Selection: Justice Boomgaarden, Term Expiration June 30, 2021
	C. District Court Selection: Judge Rumpke, Term Expiration June 30, 2021
	D. Circuit Court Selection: Judge Haws, Term Expiration June 30, 2021
Legislative Update	1. Update – Lily Sharpe
	 A. Joint Judiciary Interim Committee Meeting – Worland May 7-8, 2018 B. Bills
Judicial Conference	1. Circuit Court Conference – Judge Christensen
Reports	 District Court Conference – Judge Tyler
District Conference President: Judge Tyler	
<u>Circuit Conference President:</u> Judge Christensen	

1

Access to Justice Commission	1. Update – Justice Boomgaarden
IT Steering Committee Judicial Members: Chief Justice Burke (Chair), Justice Davis	 Update – Chief Justice Burke Order Creating Hardware/Software Standards Court Reporters
Judicial Branch Technology	COURT TECHNOLOGY OFFICE UPDATES
Courtroom Automation Committee Members: Justice Davis (Chair), Judge Fenn, Judge Skar, Judge Campbell, Judge Christensen, Judge Castano, Judge Haws Courtroom Technology Committee Members: Justice Davis (Chair), Chief Justice Burke, Judge Tyler, Judge Sharpe, Judge Christensen, and Judge Prokos	 Courtroom Automation Committee Updates – Elisa Butler and Tricia Gasner 1. Circuit Court Automation Committee and FullCourt Enterprise Upgrade 2. District Court Automation Committee and FullCourt Enterprise Configuration 3. Public Access 4. Jury Management Courtroom Technology Committee Updates – Julie Goyen 1. Emergency Requests 2. Shortfall in JSA Funds
Court Security Update	1. Update – Justice Kautz and Ronda Munger
Judicial Education Committee Members: Justice Kautz (Chair), Chief Justice Burke, Judge Sullins, Judge Lavery, Judge Haws, and Judge Williams	 Introduction – Justice Kautz, Chairman Judicial Council Meeting Agenda – Eydie Trautwein Upcoming Orientations – Eydie Trautwein Legal Ed and Practical Law Subscriptions – Eydie Trautwein Municipal Courts – Justice Kautz
Children's Justice Project	 Review of Statutory Structure of Juvenile Court – Justice Fox Update – Eydie Trautwein

Permanent Rules Advisory Committee (PRAC) Appellate Division Judicial Members: Justice Davis, Judge Fenn Civil Division Judicial Members: Justice Fox (Chair), Judge Castano, Judge Kricken, Judge Rumpke Criminal Division Judicial Members: Judge Edelman (Chair), Judge Arp Evidence Division Judicial Members: Judge Rumpke (Chair), Judge Nau, Judge Radda Juvenile Division Judicial Members: Judge Rumpke (Chair), Judge Nau, Judge Radda Juvenile Division Judicial Members: Judge Wilking (Chair), Justice Kautz, Judge Campbell, Judge Fenn	 Appellate Rules Update – Justice Davis and Patty Bennett A. No Update Civil Rules Update – Justice Fox and Patty Bennett A. Amendment to Rule 26(a): Duty to Disclose; General Provisions Governing Discovery B. Repeal of Rule 40.1(b): Change of Judge Pros/Cons of Repealing
Judicial Salaries Committee	 5. Juvenile Rules Update – Judge Wilking and Patty Bennett A. No Update 1. Judicial Salaries Update – Justice Fox
Members: Justice Fox (Chair), Justice Davis, Judge Fenn, Judge Rogers, Judge Bartlett, Judge Christensen	
Equal Justice Wyoming	1. Program Update – Angie Dorsch
Pretrial Release Issues	1. Legislative Interim Work – Judges Christensen, Haws, and Roberts
Audit of Circuit Courts	 Thermopolis A. Audit Letter April 12, 2018

	2. Douglas
	A. Audit Letter April 17, 2018
	3. Kemmerer/Afton
	A. Audit Letter May 11, 2018
New Business	1. Member Input

Attachments are highlighted