
IN THE SUPREME COURT, STATE OF WYOMING 
 
                                                                                           October Term, A.D. 2016 

 
 

 
 
In the Matter of Amendments to   ) 
the Rules of the Wyoming State  )  
Board of Continuing Legal Education )  
 
 
 
ORDER AMENDING THE RULES OF THE WYOMING STATE BOARD OF 

CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION  
 
  

 The Wyoming State Board of Continuing Legal Education has recommended that this 
Court amend the Rules of the Wyoming State Board of Continuing Legal Education.  This Court 
finds that the Board’s recommendations should be adopted.  It is, therefore, 
 
 ORDERED that the Amendments to the Rules of the Wyoming State Board of 
Continuing Legal Education, attached hereto, be, and hereby are, adopted by the Court to be 
effective May 1, 2017; and it is further 
 

ORDERED that this order and the attached amendments be published in the advance 
sheets of the Pacific Reporter; the attached amendments be published in the Wyoming Court 
Rules Volume; and that this order and the attached amendments be published online at the 
Wyoming Judicial Branch’s website, http://www.courts.state.wy.us.  The amendments shall also 
be recorded in the journal of this Court. 
 
 DATED this 24th day of January, 2017. 

 
      BY THE COURT: 

     
      /s/    
 
      E. JAMES BURKE 
      Chief Justice 
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Rules of the Wyoming State Board of Continuing Legal Education 

***** 
 
Rule 2.  State Board of Continuing Legal Education. 

***** 
(d)  The Each year the Board shall elect a vice-chairperson from its membership who shall, in 

the event of the resignation, absence, incapacity or demise of the chairperson, act as chairperson 
until such time as the absence or incapacity has been removed or the Board designates a new 
chairperson. 

***** 
 
 
Rule 3.  Definitions.   

For the purposes of these rules, the following definitions apply: 
***** 
(e) "Legal Ethics" means instruction in legal and judicial ethics and professional 

responsibility. It may include, but is not limited to, subjects dealing with duties of attorneys to 
the judicial system, court, public, clients and other attorneys; competency; pro bono work; 
substance abuse, mental health and wellness; attorney fees; and client development diversity and 
inclusion. It may also include subjects dealing with law office management to the extent 
professional responsibility is directly discussed in relation to that topic. 

***** 
 
 
Rule 4.  Continuing legal education requirements and conditions. 

(a)  Requirements. 
(1)  Active Members: A minimum of 15 hours of continuing legal education including a 

total of two hours of legal ethics must be completed each calendar year, as provided in these 
rules. 

(2)  New Active Members: A minimum of 15 hours of continuing legal education 
including a total of two hours of legal ethics must be completed each calendar year, as provided 
in these rules.   

(3)  Emeritus Members: A minimum of seven (7) hours of continuing legal education 
including one hour of legal ethics must be completed each calendar year, as provided in these 
rules. 

(4)  New Admittees by Examination or UBE Score Transfer.  Each new admittee by 
examination or by Uniform Bar Examination score transfer shall attend, within 12 months from 
the date of admission to the Wyoming State Bar, a six-hour continuing legal education course 
entitled “Pathways to Professional Practice.”  The Pathways course shall be conducted by the 
Wyoming State Bar and shall be available at least twice each year, at such times and places as 
the Wyoming State Bar may designate, and may be counted toward the 15 hours of continuing 
legal education that must be obtained pursuant to this rule. 

(b) Continuing legal education credit may be obtained by attending or participating in a 
continuing legal education activity accredited or eligible for accreditation by the CLE Director 
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under these rules. Credits will not be granted for attending duplicate courses in the same calendar 
year. 

 (c) Hours completed in any year in excess of the minimum number, including legal ethics 
credits, may be carried forward for two years, subject to the restrictions and limitations in Rule 5. 

***** 
 
 
Rule 5.  Standards for continuing legal education activity. 

***** 
(e)  An attorney may receive a maximum of six hours of continuing legal education credit 

each calendar year for self-study programs where audio, video or online material is used.  No 
hours may be carried over to any subsequent years. 

***** 
 
 
Rule 6.  Accreditation of continuing legal education activities. 

A sponsor may apply for accreditation of a continuing legal education program by submitting 
an application for accreditation online or on a form provided by the CLE Director and approved 
by the Board at least 30 days prior to the activity, along with an application fee established by 
the Board.  The application fee established by the Board is subject to approval by the Court. The 
application shall state the dates, subjects offered, total minutes of instruction, names and 
qualifications of speakers and other pertinent information. Programs are approved for 12 months 
and must be re-submitted for approval, along with payment of an application fee established by 
the Board, every 12 months in order for the program to be accredited that year.  The application 
fee will be waived for programs that are being offered free of charge.   
 
 
Rule 7. Hardship waivers and extensions. 

(a)  The Board may, in individual cases involving hardship, grant waivers of the continuing 
legal educational requirements or extensions of time.  Hardship may be shown by illness, 
medical disability or other extraordinary or extenuating circumstances beyond the control of the 
attorney, but generally will not include financial hardship or lack of time due to a busy 
professional or personal schedule.  Requests for waivers or extensions of time shall be submitted 
in writing to the Board prior to March 1 of the year following the reporting period for which the 
request is being made, provided, however, that any such requests pertaining to the Pathways 
requirement set forth in Rule 4(a)(4) shall be submitted within 12 months of the date of the 
attorney’s admission. The Board shall have discretion to review an untimely request if the 
attorney shows good and sufficient cause as to why the request was not submitted within the time 
required by this rule, and if the untimely request is submitted to the Board before a 
Recommendation for Suspension for Noncompliance has been submitted to the Court. 

***** 
 
 
Rule 8.  Exemptions. 

(a)  An attorney is exempt from the provisions of Rule 4(a) during the calendar year in which 
the attorney is admitted to practice law in Wyoming; provided, however, that new admittees by 
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examination or by Uniform Bar Examination score transfer must comply with the mandatory 
continuing legal education requirements set forth in Rule 4(a)(4). 

***** 
 
 
Rule 10.  Penalties for failure to satisfy continuing legal education requirement. 

(a)  An attorney who has not complied with the applicable continuing legal education 
requirement by January 15 of the year following the reporting period shall be delinquent and 
shall be subject to assessed a $300.00 delinquency fee.  As soon as possible after January 15, the 
Wyoming State Bar shall send a Notice of Delinquency to each delinquent attorney.  The Notice 
of Delinquency shall be sent by United States mail and email to the attorney at the official 
address listed with the Wyoming State Bar. Attorneys who are delinquent shall have until March 
1 to submit applications for adequate credits to cure the delinquency, along with payment of a 
$300.00 delinquency fee payable to the Wyoming State Bar.  Applications submitted after 
January 1 shall be applied first to the attorney’s deficiency for the previous calendar year, if any. 

 (b)  As soon as possible after March 15, the Board, upon certification from the Wyoming 
State Bar that the requirements of Rule 4(a) and/or Rule 10(a) have not been met by the attorney, 
and that the Notice of Delinquency required by Rule 10(a) was timely sent to the attorney, shall 
forward a Recommendation for Suspension for Noncompliance with continuing legal education 
requirement to the Court for each attorney who failed to comply with the continuing legal 
education requirement for the previous calendar year, or for any delinquent attorney who has 
failed to pay the delinquency fee.  For attorneys who have not complied with the Pathways 
requirement set forth in Rule 4(a)(4) within 12 months from the date of admission, the 
Recommendation for Suspension for Noncompliance shall be forwarded to the Court as soon as 
possible after the expiration of the 12 months.  A copy of the Recommendation for Suspension 
for Noncompliance shall be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, addressed to the 
attorney at the official address listed with the Wyoming State Bar.  

 (c)  Upon receipt of the Recommendation for Suspension for Noncompliance with the 
continuing legal education requirement, the Court shall issue an Order to Show Cause as to why 
the delinquent attorney's license to practice law in the State of Wyoming should not be 
suspended, sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, addressed to the attorney at the 
official address listed with the Wyoming State Bar.  The delinquent attorney may Upon receipt 
of the order to show cause, the delinquent attorney shall either remedy the continuing legal 
education deficiency and pay the $300.00 delinquency fee or shall file a response with the Court 
within 30 days of the date of the order to show cause by filing an original and six copies of such 
response with the clerk of the Court. The delinquent attorney shall also serve a copy of the 
response on the Board, together with a $300.00 noncompliance fee payable to the Wyoming 
State Bar.  The $300.00 noncompliance fee is in addition to the delinquency fee provided in 
subsection (a) of this rule.   

***** 
 
 
Rule 13.  Fees. 

Each active member of the bar must pay an annual Ccontinuing Llegal Eeducation fee in an 
amount established by the Board, subject to approval by the Court.  This fee will be collected by 
the Bar at the time of the collection of the annual license fee, but will constitute a fee to be used 
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only to defray the costs of administering the rules and regulations for continuing legal education 
and issuing annual reports.  This fee is payable October 1 of each fiscal year and will be 
considered late on December 1. 

***** 
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