
IN THE SUPREME COURT, STATE OF WYOMING 
 

                                                                                           April Term, A.D. 2016 
 
 

 
 
In the Matter of Amendments to   ) 
Rules 10 and 11 of the Wyoming State )  
Board of Continuing Legal Education )  
 
 
 

ORDER AMENDING RULES 10 AND 11 OF THE RULES OF THE 
WYOMING STATE BOARD OF CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION  

 
  

 This Court, following consultation with the Wyoming State Board of Continuing Legal 
Education, has concluded that Rules 10 and 11 of the Rules of the Wyoming State Board of 
Continuing Legal Education should be amended.  It is, therefore, 
 
 ORDERED that the Amendments to Rules 10 and 11 of the Rules of the Wyoming State 
Board of Continuing Legal Education, attached hereto, be, and hereby are, adopted by the Court 
to be effective January 1, 2017; and it is further 
 

ORDERED that this order and the attached amendments shall be published in the 
advance sheets of the Pacific Reporter; the attached amendments shall be published in the 
Wyoming Court Rules Volume; and that this order and the attached amendments shall be 
published online at the Wyoming Judicial Branch’s website, http://www.courts.state.wy.us.  The 
amendments shall also be recorded in the journal of this Court. 
 
 DATED this 23rd day of August, 2016. 

 
      BY THE COURT: 
 
      /s/       
 
      E. JAMES BURKE 
      Chief Justice 
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Rules of the Wyoming State Board of Continuing Legal Education 

 
***** 

 
Rule 10.  Penalties for failure to satisfy continuing legal education requirement. 

(a) An attorney who has not complied with the applicable continuing legal education 
requirement by January 15 of the year following the reporting period shall be delinquent and 
shall be subject to a $300.00 delinquency fee.  As soon as possible after January 15, the 
Wyoming State Bar shall send a Notice of Delinquency to each delinquent attorney.  The Notice 
of Delinquency shall be sent by United States mail and email to the attorney at the official 
address listed with the Wyoming State Bar.  Attorneys who are delinquent shall have until March 
1 to submit applications for adequate credits to cure the delinquency, along with payment of a 
$300.00 delinquency fee payable to the Wyoming State Bar. 

(b) As soon as possible after March 15, the Board, upon certification from the Wyoming 
State Bar that the requirements of Rule 4(a) and/or Rule 10(a) have not been met by the attorney, 
and that the Notice of Delinquency required by Rule 10(a) was timely sent to the attorney, shall 
forward a Recommendation for Suspension for Noncompliance with continuing legal education 
requirement to the Court for each attorney who failed to comply with the continuing legal 
education requirement for the previous calendar year, or for any delinquent attorney who has 
failed to pay the delinquency fee.  For attorneys who have not complied with the Pathways 
requirement set forth in Rule 4(a)(4) within 12 months from the date of admission, the 
Recommendation for Suspension for Noncompliance shall be forwarded to the Court as soon as 
possible after the expiration of the 12 months.  A copy of the Recommendation for Suspension 
for Noncompliance shall be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, addressed to the 
attorney at the official address listed with the Wyoming State Bar. 

(c) Upon receipt of the Recommendation for Suspension for Noncompliance with the 
continuing legal education requirement, the Court shall issue an Order to Show Cause as to why 
the delinquent attorney's license to practice law in the State of Wyoming should not be 
suspended, sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, addressed to the attorney at the 
official address listed with the Wyoming State Bar.  The delinquent attorney may file a response 
with the Court within 30 days of the date of the order to show cause by filing an original and six 
copies of such response with the clerk of the Court.  The delinquent attorney shall also serve a 
copy of the response on the Board, together with a $300.00 noncompliance fee payable to the 
Wyoming State Bar.  The $300.00 noncompliance fee is in addition to the delinquency fee 
provided in subsection (a) of this rule. 

(d) If the attorney files a response to the Order to Show Cause and mails a copy of the 
response to the Board, the Wyoming State Bar shall submit any additional information to the 
Court within five (5) days of filing of the attorney's response.  The Wyoming State Bar shall 
serve such submission on the attorney. 

(e)  In the absence of good cause shown, an order of suspension from the practice of law for a 
period of one (1) year shall issue from the Court the Court may in its discretion impose a one 
year administrative suspension from the practice of law.  It may also, in its discretion, not 
suspend an attorney who provides, in the attorney’s response to the order to show cause, a 
specific plan to correct any noncompliance, with such plan to be completed within 60 days of the 
filing of the attorney’s response to the order to show cause.   
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***** 
 
 
Rule 11. Duties of Suspended Attorneys. 
 ***** 
 (i) Suspension under these rules shall be considered an administrative suspension and 
shall not be considered as a disciplinary infraction.   

 
***** 
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