
IN THE SUPREME COURT, STATE OF WYOMING 
 

                          October Term, A.D. 2023 
 
 

 
 
In the Matter of the   )  
Amendments to the    ) 
Bylaws  of the Wyoming State Bar ) 
 
 
 

ORDER AMENDING THE BYLAWS OF THE WYOMING STATE BAR 
 

 
 The Officers and Commissioners of the Wyoming State Bar have recommended that 
the Wyoming Supreme Court amend the Bylaws of the Wyoming State Bar.  This Court finds the 
proposed amendments should be adopted.  It is, therefore, 
 
 ORDERED that the amendments to the Bylaws of the Wyoming State Bar, attached 
hereto, be, and hereby are, adopted by the Court to be effective January 1, 2024; and it is further 
 

ORDERED that this order and the attached amendments be published in the advance 
sheets of the Pacific Reporter; the attached amendments be published in the Wyoming Court Rules 
Volume; and this order and the attached amendments be published online at the Wyoming Judicial 
Branch’s website, http://www.courts.state.wy.us.  The amendments shall also be recorded in the 
journal of this Court. 
 
 DATED this 21st day of November, 2023. 

 
 
      BY THE COURT: 
 
      /s/ 
 
      KATE M. FOX 

       Chief Justice 
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BYLAWS OF THE WYOMING STATE BAR 
 

ARTICLE I. MEMBERSHIP 
***** 

 
Section 2.  Member Contact Information.  

Each member shall furnish the following information to the Wyoming State Bar, and shall 
promptly advise the Wyoming State Bar in writing or by email of any changes, along with 
supporting documentation as appropriate: 

(a) Full name; 
(b) Residential address; 
(c) Physical and mailing address of office; 
(d) E-mail address; 
(e) Telephone number; and 
(f) Other jurisdictions in which the member is licensed to practice law. 
Communications from the Wyoming State Bar to a member shall be sent to the most recent 

mailing address of record or e-mail address furnished by the member. Communications sent by 
either method shall be deemed received subject to challenge only upon clear and convincing 
evidence to the contrary. 
 
Section 3. Status of Membership. 

The members of the Wyoming State Bar shall hold one of the following eight (8) statuses:  
***** 
(e) Honorary Retired:  
     (1) Is a former Wyoming Supreme Court justice, district court judge, chancery court 
judge, circuit court judge, judge or full-time magistrate of the United States District Court 
for the District of Wyoming, or any other federal judge residing in Wyoming.  
     (2) Is not authorized to practice law in the State of Wyoming, but may provide 
mentoring to members of the Wyoming State Bar and to law students.  
     (3) Is not required to pay a license fee.  
     (4) Is not required to complete any CLE.  
(f) Retired:  
     (1) A member in good standing who has reached the age of 65 years or has 25 years of 
membership in the Wyoming State Bar.  
     (2) Is not authorized to practice law in the State of Wyoming, but may provide 
mentoring to members of the Wyoming State Bar and to law students.  
     (3) Is not required to pay a license fee.  
     (4) Is not required to complete any CLE.  
     (5) Submits to the executive director a written request to be placed on retired status. 

***** 
 
Section 5.  Annual License Fee. 
 ***** 

(b) During the first week of October of each year, the executive director shall send 
notification via email that the annual license fee is due. The annual license fee is due November 
30 and delinquent December 1. If any member is in default for the payment of the annual license 
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fee on December 1, the executive director shall send mail a notice of delinquency and notice of 
late fee to any such member to the member’s mailing address of record. If any member remains in 
default on December 15, the executive director shall certify to the Wyoming Supreme Court the 
name of such member. The Wyoming Supreme Court shall, within 30 days of the notice by the 
Wyoming State Bar, issue against such member an order returnable 30 days from the date thereof, 
to show cause why membership in the Wyoming State Bar should not be suspended. The order to 
show cause shall be mailed by certified mail, with return receipt requested, to the attorney’s 
address on file sent by United States mail and by email addressed to the attorney at the attorney’s 
mailing address of record and email address listed with the Wyoming State Bar. Upon receipt of 
the order to show cause, the member shall either pay the delinquent fees to the Wyoming State Bar 
or shall file a response to the order to show cause, along with six copies, with the Wyoming 
Supreme Court. A copy of the response shall also be provided to the executive director. If the 
member fails to pay the delinquent fees and the Wyoming Supreme Court finds that good cause is 
not shown in response to such order, an order of suspension from the practice of law for a period 
of one (1) year shall issue from the Wyoming Supreme Court. If the Wyoming Supreme Court 
finds that the member in default is unable for good cause to pay the annual license fee, the payment 
of such annual license fee for that year may be remitted or suspended in whole or in part by order 
duly entered by the Wyoming Supreme Court. 

(c) When a person is first admitted to practice law in Wyoming, the annual license fee, which 
shall be prorated on a monthly basis beginning with the month of admission (based upon the 
Wyoming State Bar’s fiscal year), shall be due 60 days after the date of admission. If any newly-
admitted member fails to pay the annual license fee by 60 days after the date of admission, the 
executive director shall send mail a notice of delinquency and notice of late fee to any such member 
to the member’s mailing address of record. If such member remains in default 75 days after the 
date of admission, the executive director shall certify to the Wyoming Supreme Court the name of 
such member. The Wyoming Supreme Court shall, within 30 days of the notice by the Wyoming 
State Bar, issue against such member an order returnable 30 days from the date thereof, to show 
cause why membership in the Wyoming State Bar should not be suspended. The order to show 
cause shall be mailed by certified mail, with return receipt requested, to the attorney’s address on 
file sent by United States mail and by email addressed to the attorney at the attorney’s mailing 
address of record and email address listed with the Wyoming State Bar. Upon receipt of the order 
to show cause, the member shall either pay the delinquent fees to the Wyoming State Bar or shall 
file a response to the order to show cause, along with six copies, with the Wyoming Supreme 
Court. A copy of the response shall also be provided to the executive director. If the member fails 
to pay the delinquent fees and the Wyoming Supreme Court finds that good cause is not shown in 
response to such order, an order of suspension from the practice of law for a period of one (1) year 
shall issue from the Wyoming Supreme Court. If the Wyoming Supreme Court finds that the 
member in default is unable for good cause to pay the annual license fee, the payment of such 
annual license fee for that year may be remitted or suspended in whole or in part by order duly 
entered by the Wyoming Supreme Court. 

***** 
(m) The suspended member may be reinstated upon the filing of a petition for reinstatement within 
one (1) year of the date of the order of suspension, which petition, along with six copies, shall be 
filed with the Wyoming Supreme Court. A copy of the petition shall also be served on the executive 
director. The petition shall include copies of the records required by subsection (j) and shall be 
supported by an affidavit which shows: (1) that all past annual license fees, the current year's 
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annual license fee and any late charges have been paid in full, in addition to all past and current 
fees for CLE; (2) that the attorney is current on all mandatory CLE requirements; (3) that there 
have been no claims or awards made in regard to an attorney on the Client Protection Fund for 
which the fund has not been reimbursed; and (4) the attorney has complied with all other applicable 
conditions for reinstatement. The petition shall be accompanied by all appropriate fees for 
applicants for admission on motion a $300.00 fee either by check made payable to the Wyoming 
Supreme Court or paid to the Wyoming Supreme Court using the Court’s online payment portal. 
A response by the executive director may be filed within 20 days of the date of service of the 
petition for reinstatement. The member shall not be eligible to practice unless and until the 
Wyoming Supreme Court issues an order of reinstatement. 

***** 
 
 

ARTICLE II. OFFICERS 
***** 

 
Section 2. Duties. 
     (a) President. - The president shall be the chief executive officer of the Wyoming State Bar, a 
member of the Executive Committee and a member-at-large of the Board of Officers and 
Commissioners. The president shall preside at all meetings of the Executive Committee, the Board 
of Officers and Commissioners, and the Wyoming State Bar annual business meeting. 
Additionally, this officer shall make recommendations to the Wyoming Supreme Court regarding 
appointments to all standing committees; and may create and appoint special committees; and be 
a member, ex-officio, of every committee. 
     (b) President-elect. The president-elect shall be a member-at-large of the Board of Officers and 
Commissioners and a member of the Executive Committee; and perform all other duties assigned 
by the president or Board of Officers and Commissioners. The president-elect shall perform the 
duties of the president in the event of the president's absence, disability incapacity, inability or 
refusal to act, or death. 

***** 
 

 
ARTICLE VII. ELECTIONS 

 
     (a) Vacancies for the positions of president-elect, vice president, treasurer, commissioner, ABA 
delegate, and membership on the Judicial Nominating Commission, which vacancies arise by 
virtue of the expiration of the applicable term of office or membership, shall be filled as follows: 

(1) Nominations must be signed by at least two active members and submitted to the 
executive director on or before July 1 for vacancies occurring in the coming twelve-month period. 
Nominations for commissioners must be signed by at least two active members who reside or 
maintain a practice within the applicable judicial district. 

(2) In the event that no member is nominated for a given vacancy, the Board of Officers 
and Commissioners shall nominate one or more qualified candidates. 

(3) The executive director shall provide an electronic ballot for all contested offices to all 
eligible voters on or before August 1 of each year. Only active members who have provided email 
addresses to the Wyoming State Bar shall be eligible to vote. Voters for vacant commissioner seats 
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must be active, resident members of the applicable district, and no member may vote for a 
commissioner in more than one district. 

(4) Each candidate may submit a written statement containing 200 words or less in support 
of his or her candidacy, which the executive director shall publish with the electronic ballot. 

(5) All voting will be electronic. All voting must be completed by August 31 of the 
applicable year. 

(6) The candidate receiving the most votes for a given contested vacancy shall fill the 
vacancy for the following term. In the event of a tie for the most votes, a run-off election will be 
held among the candidates who tied for the most votes. 

(7) Advance notice of upcoming vacancies and the procedure for nominating candidates 
and voting will be published in the Wyoming Lawyer. 

****** 
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